21st-century supervision

The College held its inaugural “Supervision in the 21st Century” training recently, with Director Gary Cruze and his team in Organizational Effectiveness & Development devising and facilitating an informative and thought-provoking session.

The inaugural class focused on strategic communications in the workplace. Twenty-five supervisors have been selected to go through the six-month curriculum.

I opened the session by stressing the importance of understanding the relationships between and among doers, supervisors, managers and leaders. I gave examples from my work experience to illustrate the need for meeting needs even with limited resources.

For instance, when I worked at Centralia College as the Chief Human Resource officer, I created my own filing system because I only had a half-time secretary. At Evergreen State College, I developed a sexual harassment training program for students. I created a curriculum, a train-the-trainer program, and guided my students to deliver the training in a peer-to-peer model.

My main point: As a supervisor you have a responsibility to devise ways to get done the work that needs to be done. You are responsible for the success of your work unit. You also must meet the charge of developing your employees. Effective, professional supervision through all levels of the College hierarchy is crucial if we are to improve the work experience of our employees, and to become a premier community college.

Leave a Reply

